Restorative Yoga


This class is taught by:

Colleen Hughes

I found yoga about 10 years ago and liked the benefits of increased flexibility, balance and stress reduction. Mostly, I liked how calm, centered and grounded I felt after a yoga class. I also like being in a class with other practitioners and feeling the energy in the room. As a clinical social worker, I wanted to be able to share what I had learned in yoga with clients, so I completed the 200 hour teacher training at Lincoln Yoga Center in 2015. I am currently enrolled in a 500 hour program since there is so much to learn. I was able to attend a training on yoga for mood management in 2016 with Amy Weintraub of LifeForce Yoga. Amy authored Yoga for Depression and Yoga Skills for Therapists if you want to learn more. I enjoy all the aspects of yoga, including the postures, breathing practices, meditation, chanting, and mantras. I enjoy encouraging students to notice the sensations in their bodies, to stay present and to notice which postures are more calming or energizing for them. I love how yoga is being used to help all types of mental health and physical health issues. My favorite types of yoga are gentle, yin and restorative.

Lynne Knutzen-Young

The first yoga class I took was fifteen or so years ago. I wasn’t sure at that point what to think about yoga. Over the years, I continued to practice at different studios and in 2013, decided to gain a deeper understanding of yoga and take the 200 hr. teacher training at Lincoln Yoga Center. This is when I realized yoga was more to me than just a form of exercise. I delight in sharing my knowledge with friends, family and anyone interested in learning more about this ancient practice. My journey continues as I apply all aspects of yoga to my everyday life.
This class gives you the opportunity to slow down, and step outside of the normal stresses of daily life. Restorative yoga uses passive, gravity-based postures to reduce the burden on the nervous system. By engaging your relaxation response, you better able to reach mental and physical equilibrium.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Nov 22 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Nov 29 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Dec 06 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Lynne Knutzen-Young
  • Wed Dec 13 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Dec 20 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Dec 27 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Jan 03 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Jan 10 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Jan 17 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Jan 24 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Jan 31 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Feb 07 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Feb 14 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Feb 21 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Feb 28 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes
  • Wed Mar 07 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Colleen Hughes